Current List of Cabinet Ministers in India

Current List of Cabinet Ministers in India. Recently Prime Minister did some changes in the council of ministers. In this article, we will discuss constitutional provisions of the council of ministers, the council of ministers in the current government of India.

Narendra Modi’s Cabinet List of Ministers of India

Provisions under constitution related to council of ministers-

  • Article 74 – There shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister at the head to aid and advise the President who shall, in the exercise of his functions, act in accordance with such advice.
  • Before 91st constitutional amendment act 2003, the Prime Minister had the discretion to appoint any number in his council of ministers.
  • But the 91st Constitution Amendment Act, 2003 made a drastic change in curbing such power of the Prime Minister.
  • This Amendment added clause (1A) in this Article which made a specific provision that, the total number of Ministers, including Prime Minister, in no case, can exceed 15 percent of the total number of Lok Sabha members.

Interesting Facts about Ministers of India

  • First Prime Minister of India – Jawaharlal Nehru
  • First President of India – Dr Rajendra Prasad
  • First Deputy Prime Minister of India – Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
  • First Home Minister of India – Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
  • First Education Minister of India – Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
  • First Defence Minister of India – Baldev Singh
  • First External Affairs Minister of India – Jawaharlal Nehru
  • First Finance Minister of India – R. K. Shanmukham Chetty

Current List of Cabinet Ministers in India

Cabinet Ministers
PortfolioMinister Name
Prime Minister, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and PensionsNarendra Modi
Ministry of Home AffairsRaj Nath Singh
Ministry of External AffairsSushma Swaraj
Ministry of Commerce and IndustrySuresh Prabhu
Ministry of Finance, Corporate AffairsArun Jaitley
Ministry of Road Transport and Highways, Shipping, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga RejuvenationNitin Jairam Gadkari
Ministry of Statistics and Programme ImplementationD.V. Sadananda Gowda
Ministry of Drinking Water & SanitationUma Bharati
Ministry of Science and Technology, Earth Sciences, Environment, Forest and Climate ChangeDr. Harsh Vardhan
Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public DistributionRamvilas Paswan
Ministry of Women and Child DevelopmentManeka Sanjay Gandhi
Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Parliamentary AffairsAnanthkumar
Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Law and JusticeRavi Shankar Prasad
Ministry of Health and Family WelfareJagat Prakash Nadda
Ministry of SteelChaudhary Birender Singh
Ministry of Civil AviationAshok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati
Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public EnterprisesAnant Geete
Ministry of Food Processing IndustriesHarsimrat Kaur Badal
Ministry of Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, MinesNarendra Singh Tomar
Ministry of Tribal AffairsJual Oram
Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers WelfareRadha Mohan Singh
Ministry of Textiles, Information and BroadcastingSmriti Zubin Irani
Ministry of Social Justice and EmpowermentThaawar Chand Gehlot
Ministry of Human Resource DevelopmentPrakash Javadekar
Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Skill Development and EntrepreneurshipDharmendra Pradhan
Ministry of Coal, RailwaysPiyush Goyal
Ministry of DefenceNirmala Sitharaman
Ministry of Minority AffairsMukhtar Abbas Naqvi

 List of Ministers of State (Independent Charge) –

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)
PortfolioMinister Name
Ministry of PlanningInderjit Singh Rao
Ministry of Labour and EmploymentSantosh Kumar Gangwar
Department of AYUSHShripad Yesso Naik
Ministry of Development of North Eastern RegionDr. Jitendra Singh
Ministry of CultureDr. Mahesh Sharma
Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium EnterprisesGiriraj Singh
Ministry of CommunicationsManoj Sinha
Ministry of Youth Affairs and SportsRajyavardhan Singh Rathore
Ministry of Power, New and Renewable EnergyRaj Kumar Singh
Ministry of Housing and Urban AffairsHardeep Singh Puri
Ministry of TourismAlphons Kannanthanam

Portfolio Ministers of India

Ministers of State (Important)
PortfolioMinister Name
Ministry of External AffairsV.K. Singh
Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate ChangeDr. Mahesh Sharma
Ministry of Home AffairsKiren Rijiju
Ministry of Health and Family WelfareAnupriya Patel
Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, Parliamentary Affairs, Water Resources, River Development and Ganga RejuvenationArjun Ram Meghwal
Ministry of Information and BroadcastingRajyavardhan Singh Rathore
Ministry of Civil AviationJayant Sinha
Ministry of RailwaysManoj Sinha
Department of Atomic Energy, Space, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Prime Minister’s OfficeDr. Jitendra Singh

Current List of Cabinet Ministers in India