CGL (Combined Graduate Level) 2018

SSC CGL 2018-Notification, Syllabus and Exam Pattern

SSC or Staff Selection Commission conducts Combined Graduate Level Exam (CGL) every year to recruit candidates for non-technical posts (Group B and Group C) as well as for non-gazetted posts in various ministries/departments of the Government of India. The exam is conducted in 4 stages. The entire registration process is done by online. It is mandatory for a candidate to qualify each stage of examination separately to proceed to the next level. Candidates who qualify all the rounds will be allotted the post in Government organization/ministries.

SSC CGL  Exam Pattern
SSC conducts Combined Graduate Level (CGL) examination in 4 different levels. The first two levels, Tier-I and Tier-II exams are conducted online mode . The Tier-III is descriptive Paper in English/Hindi is conducted offline mode (pen and paper mode ) while the Tier-IV is typing test (computer skill test) can be taken anywhere as per the candidate’s availability.

Level of ExaminationType of ExaminationMode of Examination
Tier-IObjective (Multiple Choice Questions)Online Exam
Tier-IIObjective (Multiple Choice Questions)Online Exam
Tier-IIIDescriptive Paper (in English/ Hindi)Offline Exam (Pen and Paper Mode)
Tier-IVComputer Proficiency Test (Skill Test)Whenever Applicable

SSC CGL has introduced a descriptive paper in English/Hindi of 100 marks that have to be completed in 60 minutes. The time limit of Tier-I examination has been reduced from 75 minutes to 60 minutes. The key point to note here is that there is no sectional cut-off in any level of SSC CGL Examination.

SSC CGL  Tier-I Exam Pattern
The Tier-I exam of SSC CGL  is an online mode of examination where 4 sections are present. The total marks allotted for all the sections combined is 200 and the time allotted for the completion of Tier-I exam is 60 minutes. A penalty of 0.5 marks will be imparted to every question attempted wrong by a candidate. A cumulative time of 80 minutes is allotted to physically handicapped students.

SSC CGL New Exam dates according to latest calendar released by SSC:

SSC CGL Exam– 2017 (Tier-II)18.01.2018 To 20.01.2018 (CBE)
SSC CGL Exam 2017 (Tier-III)31.03.2018 (Des)
SSC CGL Exam 2017 (Tier-IV)May/June,2018 (Skill Test)


for detailed Advertisement click here.